California’s New Data-Privacy Law Let Online Users TO Control Their Identity!

Spread

Say NO to data brokers if you are California residents.

Whether it’s your Social Security Number or your last name, or any other personal information which can lead data brokers to identify your identity. Starting from Jan1 2020, residents of California can say “NO” to them.

Recently CCPA ( California Consumer Privacy Act ) Popup with a new law – where the residents of California will decide whether to let the companies sell their own personal data or not. A strict law being implemented on business like adding “Stop Selling My Information” over webpages.

The possibilities are like law implemented in order to protect user dignity is only a start and it can be accepted by other states as well. Faber ( associate attorney in privacy & cybersecurity ) said – It’s a preparation mode, might be there is a level of compliance required at some point in the future, but for now, it’s beneficial to protect user dignity.

In comparison to other states law implemented in order to save consumer personal data online – California law is best than any other U.S law. Beyond Opting out any – individual can straight away ask companies to “Stop Selling Me”. The law applied not just to an individual but also to for any household or any connected devices or services.

Understanding California Law

Back in 2017, the root of the law started with – Alastair Mactaggart funded an initiative to stop companies to mine personal user information but then he withdrew it. but only after a law addressing his privacy concerns California’s AB 375 passed. While this is related to California law – Mactaggart ( Board chair CCPA ) said – Companies especially larger ones have to offer the same Terms and conditions to all their users and visitors.

California is not out of any state companies – which means – they will face fines if they do nothing if the Cali residents want their personal information deleted from their database. Decided fines are – $2,500 each for each violation & $7,500 each on international violations.

Businesses must have to comply with new California law if they meet one of these three things:

-Has $25 million or more in gross revenue.

-Buys, sell, share personal data of more than 50,000 residents.

-Makes more than 50% revenue itself from selling data.

Smaller companies won’t hit the threshold but they have to apply a common sense with respect to data privacy. Such as not storing on un-encrypted servers, implementing only acceptable policies, providing access only to authorized employees.

Achatz said – Definition of personal information very broad than our thinking. Personal information could be anything that directly or indirectly relates to an individual identity.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.